Hello, new to Ikawa Roaster

Hello all,
I recently purchased the Ikawa roaster as I have been looking for a roasting machine that fits my budget but, more importantly, where I can start exploring different roasting profiles.
I’m new to roasting but not new to coffee as I love my coffee with a great cigar.
A few years ago, I purchased a Bonaverde Berlin via Kickstarter. It was a cool concept. However, the only way to make coffee was to scan a QR code, wait for the roast, grind and then brew. This product had many problems. One of the biggest ones, the smaller beans would get stuck under the rotating arm. It would burn the beans, and I had to pull the plug from the wall to stop it from causing a fire. (Geez!!)
After much research, I decided to go for the Ikawa roaster; I’m very excited! I will be learning a lot from you all!
Happy roasting!!

I’m new to the crew too!
I’ve taken the long road to here, starting back in the late 1990s with a single boiler steam kettle that sprayed “espresso” ‘water’ out at the end of the boil. Sheesh, now that I look back I could have been clued in about the idea you pull the cup after the dark goes and the blonding comes! I guess that wasn’t common knowledge in the circles I traveled.

Before that? Starbucks and before that - gag - Sanka? and USNavy boiler oil.

So, 8 Years ago I got a HotTop to go along with my Breville 820xl (Dbl boiler). …Now I’m interested in seeing how to get better at building nuanced roasts and translating them from a fluid bed to a drum roaster with fidelity. I’m homebound and in my 60’s these days and I’ve discovered Coffee is that Friend that never left. (Even after the beginning of the blight crisis of the late 2000s and the introduction of “Third Wave”)

Here’s to looking forward to our opportunities in making the bean reveal its heart and share that soul amongst us.

Welcome Merle! I should be getting mine in this week, super excited!