How do you troubleshoot poor roasts?

Hello all,

I’m a newbie to roasting, and have been trying to roast beans from Sweet Maria’s. I’ve obtained a good handful already, and tend to start my roasts from the Ikawa profiles, and then move points around until the beans visually and audibly have the desired outcome (with regards to first crack). I sometimes take notes on when the various stages happen (Pale, Yellowing, etc) also, though I have a very limited understanding of how they impact the final product.

The next day when I finally taste the coffee, I may get something I like, or I may get something that’s awful. In either case, I honestly don’t know which stage of the roast to start tweaking to change the taste of the coffee into something desirable.

I completely understand there’a trial-and-error aspect to things, but I’m also interested to know if there are rules of thumb people have developed from their experience that we might be able to learn from?

Thanks!

What have I done wrong?

Hello @Kvangels,
This is THE question, actually. And it very much depends on the level of understanding you have (and plan to have ;))
My approach is to test different profiles I have at hand (all extended so that I can roast to the point I want - usually some 30s after end of 1st crack - and asses from tasting which profile shape I like. I usually do few different lengths too. I dont manipulate the shape of the curve as I dont feel like I have enough knowledge yet to do so, but I plan to get there.
If you want to understand and manipulate the curves read what others that are doing that write about it (deven for example) and read through the stuff in fruit for though thread, as there is a lot to help with understanding.
But the experience still comes from practice… :wink:

How do you stop the roast? By pressing the start button? Or twisting the coffee loader knob? Or something else?