Kenya Peaberry roasting advice

I’ve bought some green Kenya Peaberry and would appreciate advice on roasting please? I’m a beginner so words of not many syllables would be helpful!

My go to profile for most africans is extended Shakiso profile. Just make it a few minutes longer, and watch the roast, let it through the crack and then it depends on your preferences. Stop it manually 30s to 60+s after the first crack ended, maybe if you have enough beans make one drop 30s after 1st crack and second batch drop at 60s after crack (or if you prefere darker then maybe move those points further awayfrom the crack) give it a go and adjust according to what you taste …

Peaberry is different, so it might not be the best profile, but so far if I started an african bean with this profile it produced a nice roast. Except of one pesky rwanda that just did not like any profile i tried :wink:

My understanding is that Kenyan peaberry is very dense and can take a lot of heat. The Burundi profile might be a good start. Or something in between the Burundi and Shakiso.

Not roasted any myself so I’m guessing here.

As Pavel says, extend the profile you choose and cut when you think appropriate.

Let us know how it goes.

So I’ve roasted quite a bit of one type of Kenya Nyeri pea berry, and I keep being surprised by how quickly it roasts and how little heat is needed compared to what I’ve been told. I’m starting to suspect there is a bigger difference between drum and air roasting for pea berries than other beans. My theory is that PB’s, due to their shape, are less susceptible to conductive heat and more susceptible to convective heat than the average bean. So, in brief, the more aggressive approaches haven’t played out as well as say, something like kochere debo. Still have some tasting to do, but I might start with something like that and stop pretty soon after 1st crack.